Developing Workforce Skills
About Us

Board of Directors

Board participation and investment tie SkillPlan to our stakeholders and add value to industry of workplace essential skill training. The bylaws of the Council provide membership in the society for one representative of each union or council of unions who financially support SkillPlan, and one representative of an employer of the members of such a union or council of unions. The board of directors (a minimum of three from labour and three from management) helps to set policy.


Lee Loftus
Business Manager
Heat & Frost Insulators & Asbestos Workers, Local 118

Vice President

Dave Earle
Director, Human Resource Services and Government Relations
Construction Labour Relations Assoc. of BC

Secretary Treasurer

Brooks Patterson
Safety Manager
Pacific Blasting & Demolition Ltd.


Tim Bennett
Vice President, HS&E, Technical Training and Quality
NCSG Crane & Heavy Haul Services

Brian Cochrane
Business Manager
International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 115

Derek Dinzey
Trade Improvement Coordinator
Ironworkers Local 97

Jim Lippert
Habitat for Humanity Greater Vancouver

Rob Tuzzi
Bricklayers Local 2

Fred Webber
Senior Educational Administrator
Construction & Specialized Workers Union, Local 1611

Members and Guests

Patrick Byrne
President and Director of Training
Finishing Trades Institute (IUPAT DC 38)

Tom Sigurdson
Executive Director
BC Building Trades

Former Directors or Members

  • Ben Backman (Kingston Construction Ltd.)
  • Dale Bekar (Pacific Blasting)
  • Phil Bond (Ellis-Don Construction Ltd.)
  • Pamela Bragg (Lafarge North America – Aggregates, Concrete & Asphalt)
  • Patrick Dennett (Division Eight Holdings Inc.)
  • Len Embree, Peter Norris, John Harper (Provincial Council of Carpenters)
  • Mansel Evans (The Fletcher Construction Company Ltd.)
  • Klaus Fischer (CVC Services)
  • John Forgeron (SAR Transit)
  • Richard Gordon, Greg Harris (LIUNA Sub Regional Office. Previously for Construction & Specialized Workers)
  • Richard Hancock (Canadian Stebbins Engineering)
  • John Hik (Seaward Construction Ltd.)
  • David Kermode (Kermode Energy Insulators)
  • Gary Kroeker – Former Chair (Operating Engineers, Local 115)
  • Wayne Laxton (Heat & Frost Insulators, Local 118)
  • Bob Morrison, Chuck McVeigh (Construction Labour Relations Association)
  • Mark Olsen, Carl Strand (Construction & Specialized Workers, Local 1611)
  • Jim Pearson (Hotel & Restaurant Employees )
  • Wayne Peppard, Len Werden, Bill Holmes (BC & Yukon Territory Building & Construction Trades Council)
  • Rick Wagner – Former President (Maxwell Floors Ltd.)
  • Amber Roberts (Houle Electric Ltd.)
  • Dean Homewood (Construction & Specialized Workers Union, Local 1611)
  • Gary Palmiere (Construction & Specialized Workers Union, Local 1611)
  • Cecil Damery (Ironworkers Local 97)